Suffolk University to Award Nine Honorary Degrees at May 22 Commencement Exercises


Since he became Governor in 2003, Richardson has succeeded in improving education at all levels in New Mexico, increasing access to quality health care and cutting taxes for working citizens. He also has developed a statewide water plan -- a critical issue in the West -- and is credited with implementing a clean-energy agenda that is a model for the nation. Under his leadership, New Mexico is a national leader in job growth and economic momentum. Richardson represented New Mexico's 3rd Congressional district in Congress for 15 years. He also served as the U.S. ambassador to the United Nations in 1997 and was U.S. Secretary of Energy from 1998-2000. He will receive an honorary doctor of public administration degree at the afternoon ceremonies for the College of Arts and Sciences and Sawyer Business School.

Senator Biden (D-Delaware) has been a strong voice on foreign relations, terrorism, drug policy and crime prevention. As the ranking Democrat on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, he has helped shape U.S. foreign policy for more than 30 years. He also has been involved in writing major crime legislation, including the Violent Crime Control and Law Enforcement Act of 1994, known as the Biden Crime Law, which increased funds for law enforcement, and the Violence Against Women Act of 2000. Biden also has fought for the environment and for college aid and loan programs. He will receive an honorary doctor of laws degree at the morning Law School ceremonies. The following honorees will join Senator Biden in receiving honorary degrees from the Law School:

  • Michael S. Greco, a partner with Kirkpatrick & Lockhart Nicholson Graham, LLP and president-elect of the American Bar Association, honorary doctor of laws
  • Stuart Kwoh, president and executive director of the Asian Pacific American Legal Center of Southern California, honorary doctor of laws
  • The Honorable Regina L. Quinlan, associate justice of the Massachusetts Superior Court, honorary doctor of laws

The following honorees will join Richardson in receiving honorary doctoral degrees at the afternoon commencement:

  • Massachusetts House Speaker Salvatore F. DiMasi, honorary doctor of public administration
  • Wheelock College President Jackie Jenkins-Scott, honorary doctor of public service
  • Douglas W. Nelson, president, The Annie E. Casey Foundation, honorary doctor of humanities
  • P. Leo Corcoran, partner, John M. Corcoran & Company, honorary doctor of commercial science

Suffolk University, located on Boston's historic Beacon Hill, with campuses in Madrid, Spain and Dakar, Senegal (Africa), is a comprehensive global institution distinguished by its teaching and the intellectual contributions of its faculty. Suffolk offers a wide range of undergraduate and graduate programs in more than 70 areas of study. Its mission is to provide quality education at a reasonable cost for students of all ages and backgrounds, with strong emphasis on diversity. Suffolk has a combined enrollment of more than 8,300 full-time and part-time students at its Law School, College of Arts and Sciences and Sawyer Business School.

Back to News »