Student Organizations Honor Faculty and Staff


The Student Government Association held its annual Leadership Awards ceremony at the Renaissance Waterfront Hotel. The following members of the Suffolk community were honored:

  • Student Organization Adviser of the Year: Kate Schuit, Student Activities
  • Administrator of the Year: Kristin Baker, Performing Arts Office
  • Unsung Hero – Faculty/Staff: Brian Moore, Ballotti Learning Center
  • Support Staff of the Year: Kristen Gleason, Student Activities and Service Learning
  • Faculty of the Year – Sawyer Business School: Professor John McCoy , Business Law
  • Faculty of the Year – College of Arts and Sciences: Professor Robert Allison, History

The Student Bar Association recognized faculty and staff members of the Law School at the annual Dean’s Champagne Reception at the Westin Copley Hotel. Awards were presented to the following individuals:

  • The McDermott Award given to an alumnus/a who has made a significant contribution to the Law School community: Laura Ferrari, Dean of Students
  • The Cornelius J. Moynihan Award for excellence in teaching: Christopher Gibson, associate professor of law
  • The Thomas J. McMahon Award for dedication to students: Joan Luke, Law Clinical Programs
  • The Malcolm M. Donahue Award for administrative excellence: Jim Janda, Peer Mentor Program
  • Lorraine Cove Spirit of Suffolk Award: Lou Brum, Dean of Students office

Back to News »