• Rammy Award Winners Announced


This spring, the Communication and Journalism Department introduced the Rammy Award, the department’s first annual student media awards competition.  This student media festival offered students the opportunity to show off their talent and hard work.

Categories included: commercial or public service announcement (30-90 seconds); narrative: short (under 5 minutes), and long (over 5 minutes); experimental music video (3-5 minutes); news: short (60-90 seconds), and feature (2:00-10:00 minutes); photojournalism: photo essay.

Winners were announced at the 1st Annual Student Media Awards Ceremony, held on April 17 from 4:30-6:30pm in the C. Walsh Theatre. Professors Shoshana Madmoni-Gerber and Nina Huntemann addressed the audience of students, faculty, staff members and family, introducing the new award program as a way to acknowledge the creativity and talent demonstrated by Suffolk's media students. Norm Laviolette, director and owner of the Improv Asylum in Boston, served as Master of Ceremonies, entertaining the crowd and introducing each category and its finalists. All winning entries were screened.

The following students were awarded a Rammy for 2008:

Best News - Short
Lil' Peach
Nick Giannino
John Theriault

Best News - Long
Dan Weidknecht
Amanda McGurrin

Best News - Feature
Aya Sallat

Best Music Video
Chou Chou
Matthew Thompson

Best Narrative - Short
My Last Cigarette
Taylor Connelly

Best Narrative - Long
Jonny Skyhawk
James Dietz

Best Commercial/PSA
Fed Up
Joel Messer
Nathan Ryan
Ryan Klein

Best Photo Essay
Pennhurst State Hospital
Brian Halamar

For more information, please contact the Communication and Journalism Department at 617-573-8236.

Back to News »