Suffolk University

Featured News

Pencinger, Rose Named To 2007-08 New England Hockey Writers All-Star Squad

Boston, Mass.--  The New England Hockey Writers Association (NEHWA) has announced its ECAC Northeast All-Star squad for the 2007-08 season, and leading the way on this year’s team is the 2007-08 NEHWA ECAC Northeast MVP, UMass Dartmouth senior forward Jeff Grant (Burlington, Mass.), who recorded 17 goals and 21 assists for 38 points in leading the Corsairs to the league tournament title and a berth in the NCAA Division III Championships.

Curry College, which captured its third ECAC Northeast regular season crown in five years this winter, placed a pair of forwards on this year’s NEHWA team in junior Jeffrey Hazelwood (Dublin, Calif.) and freshman Jason Yuel (Winnipeg, Man.), who combined for 91 points.  Junior Anthony Monte (Chicago, Ill.) of Nichols College, who led the league in scoring with 22 goals and 29 assists for 51 points, also earned a spot on the forward line of this year’s all-star team along with Johnson & Wales University senior Matt McGilvray (Rochester, N.H.) and Suffolk University senior Dan Pencinger (Randolph, N.J.), who notched 48 and 35 points, respectively.

The defensemen on this year’s NEHWA ECAC Northeast all-star squad include Nichols junior Jeff Bieber (Littleton, Colo.), Johnson & Wales junior Mike O’Malley (Woonsocket, R.I.), UMass Dartmouth senior Tyler Crocker (Wakefield, Mass.) and Curry junior Jarrett Sousa (Providence, R.I.), as the quartet combined for 18 goals and 54 assists for 72 points.

UMass Dartmouth junior Jeff Green (Medway, Mass.) and Suffolk freshman Jeff Rose (Collinsville, Conn.) are the two goalies on this year’s NEHWA ECAC Northeast all-star squad, as Green posted a 17-9-1 mark with a league-best 2.47 goals against average and an .899 saves percentage.  Rose notched 13 wins between the pipes for the Rams with a 3.12 goals against average and a .914 saves percentage while leading the conference in minutes played.

Nichols Head Coach Lou Izzi was named as the 2007-08 NEHWA ECAC Northeast Coach of the Year after guiding the Bison to an overall mark of 20-7-1 this winter and a spot in the conference tournament title game.  Izzi has won 55 games in four seasons during his tenure at Nichols, including 33 in the last two seasons combined.

The 2008 New England Hockey Writers Association banquet is college hockey’s social event of the year.  It will be held on Wednesday, April 16th beginning at 6:00 p.m. at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass.  Reservations must be made by April 14th with Northeastern University Athletic Ticket Manager John Gruppo at (617) 373-7409.  For more information on this year’s event and the NEHWA All-Star teams, log-on to


Goalies    Jeff Green, Jr., UMass Dartmouth
    Jeff Rose, Fr., Suffolk

Defense    Jeff Bieber, Jr., Nichols
    Tyler Crocker, Sr., UMass Dartmouth
    Mike O’Malley, Jr., Johnson & Wales
    Jarrett Sousa, Jr., Curry

Forwards   Jeff Grant, Sr., UMass Dartmouth
    Jeffrey Hazelwood, Jr., Curry
    Matt McGilvray, Sr., Johnson & Wales
    Anthony Monte, Jr., Nichols
    Dan Pencinger, Sr., Suffolk
    Jason Yuel, Fr., Curry

2007-08 NEHWA ECAC Northeast Most Valuable Player: Jeff Grant, Sr., F, UMass Dartmouth
2007-08 NEHWA ECAC Northeast Coach of the Year:  Lou Izzi, Nichols